On April 5, 2022, the Senate confirmed Kathi Vidal as the new Director of the USPTO by voice vote.

President Joe Biden nominated Vidal for the post last October.  The position had been vacant since Andrei Iancu resigned in January 2021.  The duties of the Director have been handled by Drew Hirschfeld, the commissioner for patents in the interim.

The following two tabs change content below.
Matt Johnson is one of the Firm's primary contacts on practice before the PTAB. Currently co-chairing the Firm's PTAB subpractice and involved in proceedings at the Board since the first day of their availability in September 2012, Matt regularly represents clients as both petitioners and patent owners at the Board. He further works as an advocate for clients in appeals from Board proceedings at the Federal Circuit.